Hello world!

Hello, all!  I’ve been thinking about starting a blog for some time now and here it is!  Posting my rants and musings on facebook has been fun, but it’s tough to sharpen writing skills and develop ideas in more detail through social media alone.  While getting better at writing and not letting my brain go to mush after grad school are nice benefits of starting a blog, I wanted to start this project so I can share my journey to the Orthodox Church… and offer some commentary on politics and economics, of course.  I just can’t stop writing about that stuff.  More to the point, I’m convinced that Orthodoxy has some vital insights to offer us in the West in terms of theology, politics, and economics.  I’ll be using this blog to flesh out my thoughts as to why that’s the case.

So why did I choose “Odyssey to Iona” as the title?  I’m currently attending a Greek Orthodox parish, so “odyssey” seems like a solid term to describe my journey to Ancient Christianity and I chose “Iona” because the Celtic people became a bastion of Orthodoxy in the West before the Great Schism.  Several Celtic saints are venerated in the Orthodox Church, including Saint Columba, who was originally from Ireland and is one of the missionaries responsible for bringing the Orthodox Faith to the West – he is the patron of the Iona Abbey, which is still a functioning monastery.  Given my Celtic roots and my decision to convert to Orthodoxy, I couldn’t think of a better title.

There’s another reason for the title.  Iona has been referred to as one of the “thin places” – a location in the world where the divide between the spiritual and the physical is blurred.  One can more easily feel the presence of God’s uncreated energies in these places.  In my own way, as I learn to be an Orthodox Christian, I feel like I’m on a journey to make the divide between the physical and spiritual world more “thin” in my life.  As I continue to repent, I hope to experience the healing powers of the uncreated energies of God and take on God’s nature of co-suffering love.  I’ve just started this odyssey and I have a long, long way to go, but I’m looking forward to what lies ahead.

So in this blog, it’s safe to say that you’ll get a heavy dose of Orthodox theology.  But that’s not all!  I’ll be sure to post about politics, economics, and other random topics that catch my fancy.  Thanks for reading, everyone – I’m looking forward to posting here!  Cheers!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

